OCR World Series events are being delivered in collaboration with the national federation members of World Obstacle in over 100 countries and all sport continents, including Africa, the Americas, Asia, Europe and Oceania.

The foundation of the OCR World Series is each countries OCR National Series, OCR National Championships or other approved OCR Competition, where athletes compete for the opportunity to qualify and race at OCR World Cup events around the world.

OCR World Series races are 100m, Short Course or Standard Distance. Obstacles are selected to test athletes obstacle proficiency, strength, balance, agility, and athleticism. Courses are designed to challenge an athletes running speed, agility and skill.

World Series events are chosen by the national federation members of World Obstacle and are based on the quality, history and reputation of the race. All events comply with the World Obstacle OCR competition rules to ensure safety, fairness and balanced competition.

OCR World Series and OCR World Cup events may also qualify national team members for the OCR World Championships, OCR Continental Championships, and International Multisport Games.


The OCR World Cup is a series of premier races selected to represent the best events on each continent and subcontinent. The World Cup Series culminates in the World Cup Finals each year. Champions are crowned at each World Cup event, for the overall World Cup Series and at the World Cup Finals.


All World Series and World Cup events, event directors, producers, teams, entourage, spectators, service providers, contractors and associated individuals and organizations are required to uphold the highest standards of ethics, professionalism, moral conduct and behaviour expected for world level events. The following standards, guidelines and policies are included as part of these requirements:




Athletes can only represent only one country and teams cannot include athletes from more than one country. This rule follows international sport practice and criteria, and is specified in the World Obstacle Guidelines for Eligibility to Compete at Championships.

The nationality of a competitor is guided by the Olympic Charter Rule 41. In addition to the Bye-Law to Rule 41, an Athlete must be:

  1. a citizen of the country of the National Federation (“Country”) based on local law, or;
  2. have at least one parent, natural or adoptive, be a citizen of the Country, or;
  3. married to a citizen of the Country, or;
  4. a resident of the Country for 3 years, or;
  5. a permanent legal resident of the Country, or;
  6. a resident of the Country regardless of length of time if due to political, ethical, or humanitarian reasons outside of their control of the athlete, provided they have not competed for another Country within 12 months of the competition.

Additional criteria may be imposed by national federations and/or their national sports authority to compete as a member of a national team.

National laws of the host country may require additional criteria to be met. Example could include minimum age, or a medical certificate provided by a recognized national medical authority.

World Obstacle policies prohibit discrimination of any kind and require events to comply with the principles of Human dignity; Nondiscrimination, for whatever reason, race, gender, gender identity, nationality, ethnic origin, religion, philosophical and political opinions, marital status or any other; Nonviolence, including abstaining from any kind of pressure and harassment, whether physical, mental, professional, or sexual; Friendship, mutual aid, and fair play; and Integrity.

National laws, culture, practices, and social norms may conflict with World Obstacle policies, and in this event, the World Obstacle Diversity Committee, Legal Committee and Ethics Committee may provide guidance.


Qualification for the OCR World Cup Final is through allocation of qualifying slots at OCR World Cup and OCR World Series events.

OCR World Series events offer up to three qualifying slots in each competition category. Competition categories are elite and 5-year age groups for women and men as defined in the Competition Rules Master Source Document.

OCR World Cup events offer up to 310 slots in each category to provide balanced representation for for each continental regions as follows:

AFRICA – 60 slots
South and East Africa: 40 slots
North and West Africa: 20 slots

AMERICAS – 80 slots
North America: 30 slots
Central America and the Caribbean: 20 slots
South America: 30 slots

ASIA – 60 slots
East and South Asia: 20 slots
West and Central Asia: 20 slots
Southeast Asia: 20 slots

EUROPE – 80 slots
Western Europe: 20 slots
Central Europe: 20 slots
Eastern Europe: 20 slots

OCEANIA – 20 slots
Australia & New Zealand: 20 slots

  • If an individual does not accept their entry to the World Cup Final, their slot “rolls down” and the next eligible individual is allocated that slot
  • If continental slots are not filled from World Cup events, these slots will be allocated to World Series events within that continental region.
Skip to toolbar